DRUNKEN POST #7

Yes, it’s that time of week again!  Three (almost four beers) and ten cups Irish coffee!  (Don’t worry–I don’t drink the Irish coffee till I get home, and don’t dare drive till the next day.)  The Singletons ate at an Oriental place this evening–wonderful dinner!  Then several of them went to see Men in Black III.  Now I’ve just seen Men in Black, and it was good enough–don’t see any reason to watch any sequels.  Sequels are almost never as good as the originals.  The Matrix is the best example–I hated the sequels, mainly because there’s almost no time actually spent in the Matrix itself!  The only film whose sequels were as good as the original was Star Trek: The Motion Picture.  That’s it!  Filmmakers should learn to quit while their ahead!  Anyway, I don’t know why anyone goes to theaters to see movies anymore.  The screens are too small, for one thing (except with IMAX of course)–and we now have DVD and Blu-ray, so we can watch movies at home!  I never even liked taking dates to movie theaters–never knowing whether I should put my arm around their shoulders, but mostly not being able to converse with them.  These days, it’s best to watch movies alone.  In the past, people had no choice–but now we do.  There’s no social interaction in watching movies–no conversation–everyone’s focused on the screen.  To hell with that!  With dinner, there’s social interaction.  At parties/dances, there’s social interaction.  I see kids walking around in groups, on cellphones!  What the hell?  What’s the point in hangin’ with your friends if you’re busy talking to someone who’s not there, on a goddamned cellphone?  I really despise cellphones–and feel that usage of them should be completely banned, especially while driving.  In my opinion, the cellphone is the most socially destructive invention of all time–even moreso than television!  But I’ve mentioned this before.

My dog is terrified, not only of thunder, but of rain!  And Florida is literally the Thunderstorm State!  (That “Sunshine State” logo is one of the biggest scams of all time–there are more thunderstorms, year-round in Florida than in any other state in the U.S., this is a documented fact!)  But still I refuse to return her.  She’s too good a dog.  She has no behavioral problems at all, just quirks, as every dog does.  I wouldn’t return her (to the agency from which I adopted her) unless it were absolutely necessary.  She has developed the habit of getting on my bed when I’m gone for more than an hour or so, but I just have to shut my bedroom door.  And this is only because she wants to be around me.  Even in her adoption notes, it’s said she’d follow you wherever you go–and that’s quite true.  She wants to be wherever I am.  And how can I not be flattered–even touched by this? 

I shaved off the Amish beard mentioned in my previous drunken post–even that was annoying me (irritating my skin–I have a very wiry beard for some reason).  In fact, I got a Bruce Willis style haircut yesterday–and it feels wonderful!  It is so hot and humid here in Northwest Florida, and the longer my hair, the hotter my head!  If I lived in Alaska or Siberia or Scandinavia, maybe I’d let my hair grow out to it’s full glory in the wintertime (and it really is my best physical feature–very much like Ted Danson’s).  But we don’t even have a winter here anymore–global warming is absolutely real, and it is increasing exponentially!  I wasn’t convinced of global warming until Hurricane Ivan hit here in 2004, I’ve been convinced ever since.  The planet is naturally entering a warm phase–the only question is how much we humans are aggravating it.

Here I am getting all philosophical again!  I considered changing my Gravatar profile earlier, but feel I should wait till I’m sober.  I could put an actual picture of myself on it, but don’t feel safe enough to do that yet.  Hell, I haven’t even joined Facebook, though a long-distance friend of mine has been urging me to join it.  I did consider it, at one time–but decided against it after reading its vague disclosure policies.  Why should I give my personal information to an impersonal corporation?  It’s dangerous enough to have a blog.  Sure, if someone is out to get you badly enough, he/she will try–but why make it easier?  (Reminds me of the line from Nirvana’s Territorial Pissings: “Just because you’re paranoid don’t mean they’re not after you”–that is so funny, and so true!)

I’ve been listening to a box set of Johnny Cash CD’s I recently purchased, and will next listen to a double-CD of Al Jolson songs.  I have the most eclectic musical taste of anyone I know!  You want to hear something really wild, get the Pat Boone (yes, Pat Boone) CD, In a Metal Mood: No More Mr. Nice Guy.  It’s the only Pat Boone album I have, and the only one I’d ever get!  He does big-band/swing takes on classic heavy metal songs–my favorite is his take on Metallica’s Enter Sandman, which sounds better than Metallica’s original!  Some of the lyrics he changes: particularly in Nazareth’s Love Hurts.  And the changes make sense.  In the original, Love is like a flame that burns you when it’s hot.  Well, every flame is hot!  So he changes flame to stove, which makes alot more sense!  The only take on his album I really hate is that of Led Zeppelin’s Stairway to Heaven.  His take is wonderful up to the next-to-last line.  He changes, When all are one and one is all to When three-in-one is all-in-all (an unmistakable reference to the Trinity) and that ruins it!  Even with that subtle change, one of the Christian TV networks (TBN I think) fired Pat Boone, discontinuing his Gospel America show.  And it was only after he explained that the heavy metal album was a joke that they finally forgave him, and let him back on their network.  But it wasn’t a joke.  Even in the liner notes, he thanks his wife for not divorcing him.  I had alot of respect for Pat Boone after he did that CD–but lost it when he claimed he wasn’t serious in making it.  One should stick to his/her ideals, and should never give-in to public pressure.  Anyway, I still highly recommend Pat Boone’s In a Metal Mood: No More Mr. Nice Guy CD–it’s probably the most original album ever made by anyone!

I’m in the mood for Fran Drescher–I don’t know how many episodes of The Nanny I’ve watched just to see this woman in action, even her naturally whiny voice turns me on!

5 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #7”


  1. 1 nursemyra June 10, 2012 at 1:30 am

    you’re the only person I’ve heard off who is turned on by Fran’s voice

  2. 2 nursemyra June 10, 2012 at 1:30 am

    ooops, I meant heard OF, of course

    • 3 solosocial June 10, 2012 at 5:50 am

      Yes, it’s quite attractive to me. One reason is that it’s clearly of the Eastern dialect, particularly of Greater New York (the only city in the United States with a dialect all its on). Having grown up in the South, I’m used to the famous Southern dialect, so it doesn’t sound special to me. But the Eastern dialect (particularly of Greater New York) is charming to me. Another reason is that the whine in Fran’s voice suggests girlishness. And it’s the girl inside every woman that attracts men most (just as it’s the boy inside every man that attracts women most).

  3. 4 Abby June 10, 2012 at 11:26 am

    Almost 4 beers + 10 cups of irish coffee?! Just reading that is enough to make me drunk, let alone ingesting it.

    Like you, I’m not a fan of sequels. I’m also not much of a fan of facebook. I’ve grudgingly watched a few sequels, and I grudgingly do have a facebook account.

    • 5 solosocial June 10, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      Ha! It’s actually ten five-ounce cups coffee, with Baileys Irish Cream added, so it’s not quite as much as it sounds–though it is quite enough!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

