WHAT (HARM) A LITTLE MAKEUP CAN DO

I once read of a no-makeup day–a woman (a fellow blogger, I believe) suggested that women go without makeup for a day.  That would be a good idea for women–but especially for us men.  Makeup fools us, even intimidates us.  Because of it, we men forget women are as human as we–tend to see them as goddesses.  I think if women never wore makeup, in our society, both sexes would be better off.  But that’s just my radical opinion.

One of my favorite actresses is Kim Hunter.  I see her often on episodes of The Alfred Hitchcock Hour.  But she is best known for her role in the original Planet of the Apes.  Like most of the actresses to whom I’m most attracted, Kim Hunter is before my time (Planet of the Apes was made in 1968, when I was two).  Thank God for photography, however–a person can be seen and enjoyed by generations of kids like me, who feel they’d fit-in better in previous generations anyway.

This is Kim Hunter:

 

9 Responses to “WHAT (HARM) A LITTLE MAKEUP CAN DO”


  1. 1 Abby April 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    HA! Zera! Well, yeah, I’d say that Kim looks “a bit” better without the makeup.
    That’s interesting. I’ve seen Planet of the Apes many times, loved it when I was a kid and can recite a few lines. I realize now that I never knew who played any of the apes!

    The thought of a no-makeup day is intriguing. Would we even recognize most women? I, for one, where very little – just moisturizer, if that counts, and some extra help for the eyebrows. Eyebrows make us human.

    • 2 solosocial April 29, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      I can only recite one, offhand–“Get your stinkin’ paws off me, you damned, dirty ape!”

      I hadn’t thought of that, about eyebrows–many of the classic film actresses were forced by the studios to remove their eyebrows completely, and draw lines to replace them. I don’t know why, because it looked awful!

      Thanks, Abby!

  2. 3 Heather April 29, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of make-up or hair products and such. I’m not very girlie.

  3. 5 Pammy Girl April 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I live in Sephora… it’s a magical place. Make up makes me feel more confident and more feminine. I don’t wear a ton of make up and I will occasionally go without but I don’t see how men prefer a woman without it. Tell me why.

    • 6 solosocial May 1, 2011 at 4:50 am

      Oh, I’m misunderstood–I don’t mean to imply that we prefer women without makeup. Most of us prefer women with makeup–I know I certainly do! What I mean is that we men need to see women without makeup, more often. Makeup adds to the feminine mystique, and this mystique can deceive us. Makeup doesn’t necessarily make women more attractive to us, but it can make you seem greater than human, immortal so to speak. And when we see women without makeup, we see you more as human–as equals to us men. After all, in a serious relationship, a man sees a woman without makeup much of the time. And if he hasn’t developed a true perception–if he hasn’t gotten past her looks alone–then he cannot bond with her as well.

      But as far as a woman’s perception of herself, wearing makeup–this is different! If makeup makes you feel more confident and more feminine, then by all means it’s good for you! And whether a woman feels at her best wearing no makeup, wearing some makeup, or even wearing alot of makeup, this is most important. For as I’m sure you know, a woman is most attractive when she feels attractive, just as a man is most attractive when he feels attractive!

      Thank you for your comment!

  4. 7 Amy June 20, 2011 at 7:27 am

    I love that you have pics of women from decades past sprinkled throughout your blog. I always say I was born in the wrong generation because I am completely drawn to so many “old fashioned things” including the music. There is something so incredibliy appealing about photographs of women from the 50s, etc. Gorgeous. I’d love to have someone get me all retro-ed up with hair and such and have a little old fashioned photo shoot. I never feel comfortable with getting my picture taken, but I think if I was dolled up like a burlesque beauty I’d have fun with it 🙂

  5. 9 Amy June 20, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Deal. Now I just need someone willing to do my hair and make up, a nice old fashioned outfit, someone to work the camera and a sweet little floozy of a tease seductious attitude. hehehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories


