IT AIN’T OVER TILL THE HOT LADY SINGS!

I watch many programs on television, on different channels (though I record them so I can watch them when I feel like it, and keep the ones I enjoy most).  But my base-channel, the channel which I keep my television tuned on regularly, is WUWF–a public-access channel operated by the University of West Florida.  WUWF TV has alot of excellent programming I can’t see anywhere else.  But my favorite is Classic Arts Showcase.  It’s like MTV or VH1 used to be (before most of their programming turned to reality shows)–continuous music videos!  And over the years, I’ve seen and heard more hot female vocalists than I can keep up with–vocalists such as these:

Anna Maria Martinez, soprano

Andrea Rost, soprano

Angela Gheorghiu, soprano

Anna Netrebko, soprano

Cecilia Bartoli, mezzo-soprano

Charlotte Church, soprano

Dawn Upshaw, soprano

Dorothea Roschmann, soprano

Jennifer Larmore, mezzo-soprano

Kathleen Battle, soprano

Lesley Garrett, soprano

Martina Serafin, soprano

Natalia Ushakova, soprano

Nino Machaidze, soprano

Sumi Jo, soprano

Nuccia Focile, soprano

Renee Fleming, soprano

Kiri Te Kanawa, soprano

20 Responses to “IT AIN’T OVER TILL THE HOT LADY SINGS!”


  1. 1 thegumbodiaries June 9, 2011 at 6:39 am

    Wow! Charlotte Church sure grew up! I’m a WUWF fan, too, but listen mostly to the talk and news programs. Let’s hope such good programming can continue in spite the federal and state funding cuts.

    • 2 solosocial June 9, 2011 at 7:14 am

      Yes, she did indeed!

      And I hope such programming will continue as well. These funding cuts are appalling. I am especially concerned about the cuts that Rick Scott is implementing–from the arts, from law enforcement, and from healthcare. I knew he was trouble, from the beginning of his campaign–because he got so much more airtime than Alex Sink did (which is supposed to be in violation of the FCC’s equal time law). So I voted for Alex Sink, though I’m a card-carrying Independent. And this brings up another issue: I truly believe Rick Scott would have run as a Democrat, if it would have been in his favor. Rick Scott, in my opinion, is a megalomaniac. He had all the money he wanted, so he went for power–literally buying his way into the Florida Governor’s Mansion.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. 3 iamheatherjo June 9, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    I did a similar entry when I was practicing with embedding photos into WordPress after I switched from my old Diaryland account. It was called “My Imaginary Boyfriends”. LoL 😀

    • 4 solosocial June 9, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      Ha, ha! Yes you could say these would be imaginary girlfriends for me! But these women are alot more than that–they are trained, skilled vocalists of the highest caliber, who happen to be beautiful. Most popular-music singers (of all popular genres), can’t sing worth a damn. Singing requires so much more than the ability to carry a tune. This doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy popular music, by any means. I’ve been listening to Led Zeppelin’s “Kashmir” alot, as of late, over and over–it’s my favorite Zeppelin song.
      And Robert Plant sounds great singing it. But he would sound so much greater if he’d had the vocal training that opera singers had!

  3. 5 duncanr June 9, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Lot’s of beautiful women there, – especially Sumi Jo !!!

    P.S. was Lesley Garret slipping that dress on or off in that middle pic ? 😯

    • 6 solosocial June 9, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      Oh yes–she’s a beauty!

      And as for Lesley Garrett, I don’t think she was doing either–I think she was just pointing toward her shoes, for some reason, indadvertently allowing the cleavage to show! Funny thing about that picture, I originally posted a different photo for her, one in which she wasn’t smiling, but was standing somewhat angelically in the light coming through the windows of a church. It was a beautiful photo–but it just didn’t fit her personality. Lesley Garrett can definitely be solemn, when appropriate–but her real personality seems to be more fun, more congenial. I wouldn’t be surprised if she approved of the accidental cleavage shot–she can laugh at herself! And anyone who can laugh at herself (or himself) has my deepest admiration!

  4. 7 Allison June 10, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I remember those days of music videos on music television. I haven’t had cable TV for a couple of years, so I haven’t watched either channel for awhile…the last thing I remember watching on VH1 was a group of former TV starts who were trying to lose weight. Screech from Saved by the Bell was on it…and was a major jerk. Before then, I had some issues with feeling compelled to watch SBTB anytime I caught it on TV. No more after that.

    Anyhow, those are all very pretty woman, and I have no doubth they have pretty voices to match. And I agree with the first commenter. Charlotte Church grew up to be a beautiful woman (how old does that make me sound?).

    • 8 solosocial June 11, 2011 at 12:55 am

      Oh yes, “Screech” is just slightly less annoying than “Urkel”–but both are annoying as hell!

      Yes, Charlotte Church has definitely grown up. In fact the photo I’ve posted is rather modest–many of the other contemporary photos of her are quite risque!

      And it doesn’t make you sound as old as you might think–I’m 45!

  5. 9 Jim June 13, 2011 at 7:08 am

    I’d have to say you like sopranos as well. I used to enjoy MTV and VH1, but like you say, music videos turned into “reality TV”, which sucks.

    • 10 solosocial June 14, 2011 at 1:51 am

      Thanks Jim!

      I don’t prefer sopranos, it just seems that most divas happen to be sopranos–I don’t know why.

      Last night, Eula Beal was featured on Classic Arts Showcase, in a 1946 recording. Like Marian Anderson, she was a contralto.

  6. 11 bschooled June 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I’m with gumbodiaries, I can’t believe how grown up Charlotte Church looks.

    I really want to start broadening my music horizons. Lately I noticed that most of the songs I listen to are ones that were ingrained into my head in High School.

  7. 13 territerri June 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Can’t say that I recognize most of these ladies, but I will agree – they ARE beautiful!

    I used to enjoy MTV and VH1 as well, but they’ve strayed so far from the original format with those ridiculous reality shows that I can’t even watch anymore.

  8. 15 Lynn June 16, 2011 at 8:36 am

    OMG, these women, and I do mean women… are stunning! Why is it the sopranos are always so strikingly beautiful? I am from Florida and I shamefully regret to say I have never watched that network. I have a phobia of mainstream television so I can see how I might have missed it. 😦

    • 16 solosocial June 16, 2011 at 10:53 am

      Thanks, Lynn!

      It’s not just the sopranos–notice there are two mezzo-sopranos included. But as I’ve mentioned in a previous comment-reply, the sopranos get the most attention (as tenors seem to get more attention than baritones like me). And also aforementioned, Eula Beal was gorgeous, and she was a contralto.

      Further, Classic Arts Showcase isn’t mainstream television, so you can rest easy with it!

  9. 17 nursemyra June 17, 2011 at 2:49 am

    I like Natalia’s gloves

  10. 19 abby137 June 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I’ve only heard of a couple of these women, but I’m glad you have a station where you can listen to them often.

    I sang in the high school choir, and it was not easy! And I was a kid for whom most things came easy for, I will say. To sing well takes a lot of skill and talent. And practice! On a side note, our choir teacher (a rather voluptuous woman) told us that singing loud and well would help develop our breasts – just look at her perfect example(s)! I admit that it got me to practice more.

    • 20 solosocial June 18, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      Ha! She was right! I took voice in college, and learned that breathing properly is more important for singing than anything else. And correct breathing probably does make the breasts at least seem larger.
      Then again, an elderly farm woman once said she’d told her daughters that eating their oatmeal would make their breasts bigger!

      Also, if you don’t get Classic Arts Showcase on any of your cable channels, click on the site–it tells you how to “order” it.


Leave a Reply

Categories


