FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #5

Another provocative question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If God appeared to you in a series of vivid and moving dreams and told you to leave everything behind, travel alone to the Red Sea and become a fisherman, what would you do?  What if you were told to sacrifice your child?

Well, since the Creator is pure spirit, He (and I use the masculine only because I can relate to it better, being male myself) would probably not appear in any dreams, visibly, except perhaps as a near-blinding light.  More likely the Creator would simply speak to me in such dreams.  That aside, I would probably leave everything behind, travel alone to the Red Sea, and become a fisherman.  Of course I’d have to operate from one of the nations that border the Red Sea.  My first choice would be Jordan (at the Gulf of Aqaba), and my second would be Saudi Arabia.  Though I have fished, many times, for pleasure, I’ve never done it for a living.  Still, I’d just go to Jordan (or Saudi Arabia), and await further instructions from the Creator.

As to the second part of the question–if I were told to sacrifice my child, I would know this was not coming from the Creator.  In one of my music-impression poems I state, “…I know not what God is, but what God is not.”  And our Creator, being holy, is definitely not one to tell anyone to do anything evil–like sacrificing his/her child.  Yes, I am quite familiar with the story of Abraham being told to sacrifice his son, Isaac (Genesis 22 : 1-18).  But I don’t consider the Bible, or any other text, to be the all-inspired word of God.  As stated in my creed, “…God’s Word is not limited to one form of communication.” 

Still, as with most mythology, this story may be based on an actual event.  My mom, a devout Christian, yet an enlightened one, once explained the story this way: Abraham had come from a land where the gods were believed to require child-sacrifice.  So it’s possible that Abraham believed this new, monotheistic God required it too.  Yet as he prepared to sacrifice his son, something changed his mind.  Perhaps he realized the true Creator was not evil, thus wouldn’t suggest he do anything evil.  Perhaps even Abraham happened to be listening to the Creator, in that moment (I believe the Creator is always speaking to us, though we almost never listen), and received word of the Creator’s true nature.

So in summary, the Creator might suggest that someone do something good (leaving everything behind, traveling alone to the Red Sea, and becoming a fisherman would be good for me, since I have no wife and no children).  But the Creator, being holy, would never suggest that anyone do anything evil (like sacrificing his/her child).

0 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


