FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #8

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

You have the power to go any distance into the future and, after one year, return to the present with any knowledge you have gained from your experience but with no physical objects.  Would you make the journey if it carried a 50 percent risk of death?

Absolutely!

And if I had twelve hours to prepare, here’s what I’d do:  I’d gather hard copies of all my writings (poetry and prose), put them in a traveling bag, and place the bag next to the front door.  Then I’d withdraw half the money in my savings account, in hundred-dollar bills.  Next, I’d record the transaction, and get dressed in my finest clothes–making sure to pack my wallet, with my identification and cash.  Then I would have dinner at the best seafood restaurant in town (preferably with a friend), and drink at least six beers.  Finally, I’d return home, lock the front door behind me, grab the bag containing my writings–and make the journey.

What if I had no time to prepare–would I still make the journey?

Absolutely!

 

2 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #8”


  1. 1 theduffboyboy February 10, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Would the 6 beers be your form of liquid courage, or would they be just to enjoy your last night in present time? Interesting experiment, ala Quantum Leap.

    • 2 solosocial February 10, 2012 at 6:44 pm

      Both! They would serve as liquid courage, but also as part of a “last meal” (as would the seafood), since there’d be a 50 percent chance I would die!

      Thanks, Luis!


Leave a Reply

Categories


