OBSERVING CAR WARS WHILE VISUALIZING GOOD DRIVING

I’ve never seen so many bumper stickers as I have here in Pensacola, Florida!  And I’ve never seen so many drivers fail to use their turn signals before turning either!  Unfortunately, I’ve never seen any of these drivers get pulled over for this very dangerous infraction–law enforcement officers probably have more serious crimes to deal with.  For the record: Not using your turn-signal (“blinkers”) is a crime.  It is a minor traffic infraction, but it is still a crime.  And in my opinion, it is far more dangerous than speeding.  I have never been, let alone lived, in any city where the driving is so bad as here.  And failure to use turn signals is among the most frequent violations.  From my experience, I could almost swear that the majority of drivers in Greater Pensacola  either never use their turn signals, or use them at the last second.  And if you use your turn signal at the last second, you might as well not be using it at all.  You should use your turn signal about half a block from your destination, at the earliest.  And it is better to use your turn signal too early (if there can be such a thing) than too late.  And if your cellphone is distracting you, hang up and drive!  (I choose not to have a cellphone–and feel that cellphone usage should be completely banned, at least when driving!)

Now to a lighter note.  I’ve noticed that bumper stickers go through phases of war.  You may have noticed this with the so-called Jesus-fish.  This is not actually a bumper sticker, but close enough.  First there was the fish (the code symbol used by early followers of Jesus, to avoid persecution by the Romans), with IXOYE (an acronym of five Greek words indicating Jesus) within.  This was displayed on cars for decades.  Then came the same symbol with the transliteration, JESUS, within.  Next, some idiot came up with the idea of fighting religion by displaying a four-legged fish with DARWIN in the center.  And the latest I’ve seen is the Darwin-fish-lizard displayed next to a much larger fish, containing the word, TRUTH–this fish clearly about to devour the Darwin-fish-lizard!

The same is the case with bumper stickers–they go through phases of war, too.  First there was this well-intentioned bumper sticker:

VISUALIZE WORLD PEACE

Then came this one, obviously a parody:

VISUALIZE WHIRLED PEAS

Next came this one (I wanted to put one on my car, but couldn’t find one–wouldn’t have done any good anyway):

VISUALIZE USING YOUR TURN SIGNAL

And finally, today, I noticed this one:

BABY JESUS CRIES WHEN YOU DON’T USE YOUR TURN SIGNAL

And I couldn’t help but laugh (I’m still laughing)–then visualize Jesus laughing (he did have a sense of humor, you know)!

Now is this the end?  Will car owners ever cease these ridiculous car wars?  Probably not–and I can’t help but look forward (in a darkly funny way) to seeing what comes next!

2 Responses to “OBSERVING CAR WARS WHILE VISUALIZING GOOD DRIVING”


  1. 1 Abby March 14, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Ack, I’ve been a bit of a traffic nazi for a while, as a bicycle commuter and pedestrian. Now that I’m a crossing guard, it’s only gotten worse. I’m surprised there aren’t more accidents from all of the distracted drivers. I admire you not having a cell phone. I have one – we don’t have a landline – but never use it while driving.

    Yes, the bumper sticker wars get a little silly. I’ve not seen the one about baby Jesus!


Leave a Reply

Categories


