BESTOWED BEFOREHAND

Sometimes it’s good to step back from one’s blog, and try to see it as someone else would.  This is one of those moments.  I downloaded some photos of Madeleine Stowe earlier today, for a display on my blog.  Then I asked myself why.  Why do I like to post pictures of things and people I desire, admire, or envy?

There is a sheet of poster paper on my living-room wall, with pictures from magazines covering it.  I made it several years ago, at the Unity Church here in Pensacola.  It was for a treasure-mapping workshop, and it was one of the most enjoyable group activities I’ve ever done. 

All of the necessary materials were provided:  poster paper, glue, scissors, various stickers, and a mountain of magazines of different genres.  Going through the magazines, we cut out pictures of things and people we envied, admired, or especially desired.  Then we pasted them on our treasure maps.  The idea, as explained by the instructor, is to make a collage of things and people you desire–then step back and visualize having these things and people in your life.  Supposedly, in visualizing what you desire, you’ll eventually get it. 

I don’t have a camera, so I can’t show you my treasure map.  But it’s covered with scenes of beautiful places, magnificent animals, great works of art, and of course gorgeous women–and finished off with stickers of hundred-dollar bills.

I haven’t gotten any of these, since.  Either the visualization is questionable (like astrology), or I lack faith.  Yet the treasure map is still special to me, and I’ll always keep it.  Because it reveals so much about me as a person–and that is definitely worth the time and effort that went into making it. 

I learned, at a very early age, the importance of self-examination.  Yet almost as important is self-actualization–the practice of visualizing what you want to become, and what you want to attain.  For though your dreams may be unattainable, they give you something for which to live.

4 Responses to “BESTOWED BEFOREHAND”


  1. 1 Abby March 26, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I think treasure mapping, as you’ve described it, is a great and effective idea. And maybe we don’t need to stop at just one. Like a blog, perhaps it something we should add to regularly for it to “work”?
    That said, it’s something I’ve wanted to do, but have never gotten around to doing!

  2. 3 Matt Flax March 21, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I have some comments on your treasure map, and how to get better results. First, it’s a great idea and you should continue, but you need to approach in a slightly different way. The things you desire were placed there because you seek them. The map is solid real world depiction of your desire. But that’s all you will ever get from it, more desire for those things and no real satisfaction because the wanting of it is all you asked for. Even the Map itself is a representation or a seeking, or a search. You see?

    In the book ‘The Secret’ which should be read with open mind but taken lightly, they call what you made a “vision board” you tack up all the things you want, but before you can get them you have to envision yourself actually getting those things, and to really feel like you have them. This RECEIVING of those things is a very important step in getting them.

    For a short while I have been practicing a form of Chaos Magick called ‘Sigil’ Magick. what you do is to write out the thing that you desire in a positive and present tense I have it, then reduce the words down to single letters, then transform them into a Magickal symbol.

    A good example of this working is told in a nice story by a comics writer called Grant Morrison. Google video “Grant Morrison The Disinfo speech” and hear him talk about it. Its a nice video. very entertaining.

    Try what he suggests and let me know if you get what you want. And don’t half ass it. Really believe and make it happen!


Leave a Reply

Categories


