FROM THE FRIARS CLUB #16

And this is my favorite from the sixteenth segment of The Friars Club Encyclopedia of Jokes (categories under the letter, P):

One day Jason burst into the house and said, “Mom!  Dad!  I have great news:  I’m getting married to the greatest girl in the world.  Florence has agreed to marry me.”

But that night Jason’s dad took him aside for a little chat.  “I have some bad news for you, son,” he confessed.  “See, I used to fool around a lot, and Florence is actually your half-sister.  I’m afraid you can’t marry her.”

Jason was broken-hearted, and moped around for a good six months, but eventually he started dating again.  And a year or so later he came home with happy tidings.  “Vickie said yes!  We’re getting married in October, isn’t that great?!”  

Alas, Jason’s father insisted on another private conversation and broke the bad news again.  “Vickie’s your half-sister, too, son.  I’m awfully sorry.”

This time Jason was beside himself with anger and grief, and he finally confessed to his mother.  “At this rate I’m never going to get married,” he moaned.  “Every time I fall in love, Dad says the girl’s my half-sister.”

“Don’t pay any attention to him, Jason,” said his mother cheerfully.  “See, I did some fooling around myself, and he’s not your father.”

4 Responses to “FROM THE FRIARS CLUB #16”


  1. 1 Abby March 30, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks for the laugh this morning!


Leave a Reply

Categories


