FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #17

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

Do you believe in any sort of God?  If not, do you think you might still pray if you were in a life-threatening situation.

Of course I do–everybody in the world believes in God, but sees God in a different way.  I have a friend who thinks he’s an atheist, but admits he prays in times of great distress.  Regardless of what “atheists” or Christians say, there are no atheists.  I mention Christians because Christianity is the only major religion that accepts no other religion as legitimate (which is why I oppose it).  And for almost two millenia, Christians have been spreading a lie that whoever does not believe in the Christian “God” (which is really three gods–the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit) doesn’t believe in God.  And people who see God differently from the Christian perspective have unfortunately been deceived by this Christian lie.  God is simply whatever created everything and everyone.  The Creator is known by many names, including God, Yahweh, Allah, and Brahma.  But what’s in a name?  The Creator has no name (this is why one cannot take the Lord’s name in vain).  The Creator has no ego, either.  The Creator is neither human nor inhuman.  The Creator is beyond human–so far beyond human that we cannot even conceive of the Creator.

Some see the Creator as a being, others as simply a force.  I see the Creator as a being, simply because I don’t see how a non-sentient force could create sentient beings like us.  I once argued with an agnostic with this question–what created us?  He explained that the Big Bang did.  So I responded, quite seriously, that to him, the Big Bang was God (I didn’t bother to ask what caused the Big Bang).

What’s sad is that we humans, which are the only species of animal on earth capable of spirituality, complicate everything with organized religion.  And then those (like me) who don’t follow any organized religion doubt they believe in the existence of the Creator.  But they do–we do!  We’re born with the knowledge that there is a Creator.  If you want to see how we are meant to be, observe a child.  Before a child is coerced into a particular religion, he or she simply talks to God!  He or she communicates with the Creator, without the needless restraints of religion.  In other  words, a child is spiritual.  Spirituality is natural, religion is not.  There’s even a quote: “Religion is for those who are afraid of going to Hell; spirituality is for those who have already been there.”

The existence of the Creator is beyond question.  Everyone knows some force created all that is, and continues to create.  The only question is whether the Creator intervenes in our lives.

My creed, which was the second post on this blog, is still the same:

God is not limited to one system of beliefs; God’s Word is not limited to one form of communication.  God is beyond anything we humans can imagine, classify, or manipulate.  In attempting to limit God, we only limit ourselves.

Let me close with this published poem of mine on the subject:

Completely

Scott ____

Do the heavens declare the glory of God

When they’re dreary?

I don’t know.

And that’s the answer God loves most.

To know there’s a God, I first had to ask, “Is there a God?”

Now I ask, “Does God intervene in our lives?”

And I’ll never know, but by asking this first.

Most situations are not two-valued, but this one is.

If God knows me at all, God knows me completely.

God is simply whatever created us.  This is why there are no atheists

Everyone knows something created us, and continues to create.

I’m hungry, but holding out till I finish this page

Since I’m most creative before breakfast.

Is God most creative before breakfast?

God laughs with me at this jest, I think.

The Creator creates us to be creators, in turn.

I can’t create the heavens, no one can.

But I can create a poem, if it’s indeed a poem.

What is a poem, anyway?

Another question.  God needs questions, if God needs anything.

Now the page is filled, and I can eat breakfast.

Thank God!

2 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #17”


  1. 1 Abby April 4, 2012 at 10:45 am

    I agree, even about the “atheists”. I get tired of the us-vs.-them mentality of organized religion. We used to attend church, thought we should for the kids’ sake, but it was so riddled with hypocrisy and cynicism against other relgions and sects, we got out and never looked back. You get an “amen”.

    • 2 solosocial April 4, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      Thank you, Abby!

      Even when I was Christian, I could never fully worship in church (except when alone)–I was too distracted by the other people, especially the women!

      Paul writes alot about the importance of group worship. But I never liked him, either–most of his teachings are in total opposition to the alleged teachings of Jesus, anyway!

      No, I always worship best alone–wherever I am. Even Christian doctrine maintains that we stand before God alone. And there’s a Cher song that suggests this: “You may have a lover wherever you go, but sooner or later, we all sleep alone.”


Leave a Reply

Categories


