FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #18

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If, by having a 2 inch by 2 inch tattoo, you could save five lives and prevent a terrorist attack, would you do so?  If you were allowed to select the location and design, where would you have it and what would the design be?

Of course I would.  I would have it placed at the center of my upper abdomen, just below my chest.  And this is the design I’d choose:

8 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #18”


  1. 1 Abby April 5, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Hmmm.. yin yang. Good choice. Do you currently have any tattoos? Life-saving or otherwise?

    • 2 solosocial April 5, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks, Abby!

      No, I’ve considered getting a tattoo (that design in particular) many times. But two things always stop me: the permanence of it, and the risk (however slight) of getting HIV in the tattooing process.

      • 3 Abby April 6, 2012 at 11:49 am

        Understandable. I was wondering because I know people who like the idea of a tattoo, but don’t know what they would have done or where. You have a chosen design and location. My tattoo is 2 years old. No regrets (or HIV) yet!

      • 4 solosocial April 6, 2012 at 11:35 pm

        The odds are you’re quite safe–with the sterile needles being used today, the risk is very low (though I would of course recommend that anyone check out the tattoo studio very carefully, before going under the needle).

        So, if you don’t my asking–what’s your tattoo design?

        There are alot of people with tattoos in Pensacola–a friend of mine says the same is true in Spokane, WA, where he lives. If I thought it would really attract a potential girlfriend, I would definitely get the aforementioned tattoo in the aforementioned location (I know of a studio here with a very good reputation for safety)! Reminds me of some lines from a Tom Petty song, “Eddie waited till he finished high school. He went to Hollywood, got a tattoo. He met a girl with a tattoo too. The future was wide open…”

        I really envy “Eddie”!

        By the way, I saw a program on Animal Planet(?) about a teenager who’d been badly attacked by a grizzly–barely even surviving. And what fascinated me most is this: Not only did he harbor no ill feelings toward the grizzy, but he got a large tattoo of a grizzly as a souvenir!

      • 5 Abby April 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm

        I have a simple flower and vine on my upper right arm. I think I shared it on the blog once. And yes, I did research the studio I went to for cleanliness and professionalism, etc.

        My reasons for wanting one and getting one are mostly as a form of self-expression and individualism, yet you’re right. Tattoos are pretty prolific everywhere. Now that the temperatures are getting higher, the tattoos are showing up like robins and tulips!

      • 6 solosocial April 9, 2012 at 12:31 am

        Sounds like a nice design!

      • 8 solosocial April 9, 2012 at 12:40 am

        Ah–that is a nice design!


Leave a Reply

Categories


