FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #24

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If you went to a movie with a friend and it was lousy, would you leave?

I actually did this once.  When I was in college I had several friends and fellow students from foreign countries, especially Bangladesh.  These friends were fascinated with all things American of course, so I accompanied them on many excursions in Greater Mobile.  One night we went to see a new movie called sex, lies, and videotape.  And to me it seemed lousy because it was slow-moving (not action-packed).  I told my friends I was bored, and suggested we all go see a different movie in the multiplex.  But to my surprise, they really liked it, and were determined to stay.  So I left, and went to see another film (I can’t remember which one).  

About fifteen years later, I finally bought a copy of Sex, Lies, and Videotape on DVD, and watched it for the first time.  And I found it quite enjoyable.

As to whether I would do this again, I probably wouldn’t.  I went to see a movie called The Object of My Affection a few years ago.  It was really a date with a woman I’d met on the Pensacola Singles Line–she suggested the movie, and brought her BFF along.

I hated that movie!  It was like a left-wing propaganda film–I’d never seen so much politically-correct, in-your-face crap in my life!  But I watched the movie all the way through, simply because I felt it would be rude to leave.  And I said nothing to the two women about my dislike of it–would have been pointless anyway.

 

3 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #24”


  1. 1 Scott April 12, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    I just learned that “BFF” does not stand for best female friend! But that’s what it’s meant to stand for in this post! Oh, these Digital Age acronyms!

  2. 2 nursemyra April 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Sex, Lies and Videotapes is a great film. My friend and I walked out of a movie last week – This Must Be The Place starring Sean Penn. Biggest load of over-hyped shite I’ve ever seen


Leave a Reply

Categories


