NATIONAL POETRY MONTH #4

Escapade

Scott ____

Air blows briskly through my uncombed hair

As the wheels of the old brown Pinto race

Against nothing, down the winding two-lane highway.

I drove toward school, but took a turn toward nature

Without regret.

Cows?  Goats?  Soybean-rows?  How long has it been

Since I last left the city?

No destination, I drive for the journey.

Wild rock flows from the radio

Stirred by wind from down-rolled windows.

That I cannot hear sounds of nature

Makes no difference to me.

Morning in the country is experienced

Not in the ears, but in the heart.

Nothing in the world matters today

But farms and pastures and streams

Between sacred earth and eternal sky.

The lemon sun beckons me through grassy hills of Mississippi

And elevated dimensions of my mind.

2 Responses to “NATIONAL POETRY MONTH #4”


  1. 1 Abby April 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Nice. Just a drive on a long stretch of road.
    I remember a friend of mine did this in high school one night after work. He just drove down the highway and did that for four hours. Then he needed to turn around and come back! He said he had a great time with just himself, and I believe it.

    • 2 solosocial April 14, 2012 at 10:34 pm

      Thank you, Abby!

      Yes, when I lived in Mobile, I would often get on Airport Boulevard and drive into Mississippi like that. In fact, my last visit to New Orleans started out as just another one of these drives, but ended-up an impulsive trip across two state lines. This was in the summer of 1991–and I had a wonderful stay in New Orleans. But the highlight of my trip was this: On the way back to Mobile, at night, I took a wrong turn in Mississippi, and ended-up going north toward Hattiesburg. It took me several hours to find my way back, but I was lost in paradise! I had driven into an area so rural there were not even any convenience stores–only farms. I got out of my car, at one point, and was just overwhelmed with awe and joy! The only lights were those on the porches of the farmhouses, and the only sounds were those of crickets and cows! And the stars–I’ve never seen so many stars as I saw in that middle-of-nowhere spot!

      It was a moment (though unexpected) I’ll treasure the rest of my life!


Leave a Reply

Categories


