NATIONAL POETRY MONTH #10

Sweep

Scott ____

I have made a deal with Cheryl

That I will mow her lawn if she’ll take me

To the beach.

Upon finishing the front

I notice clippings on the sidewalk.

I knock on her door.

She looks at me

With blue attraction, as I take the broom.

I sweep, unable to forget

That look.

2 Responses to “NATIONAL POETRY MONTH #10”


  1. 1 Abby April 18, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Hmmm… the suburban housewife lawnboy fantasy…

    • 2 solosocial April 18, 2012 at 11:30 am

      Ha, ha! Actually Cheryl wasn’t married, and she was one of the most selfish women I’ve ever dated–but I couldn’t see her faults at the time, of course. The only fantasy here is the photo I’ve left to accompany the poem. Cheryl was attractive, and was indeed a blue-eyed blonde–but she didn’t look nearly as good as the woman pictured!


Leave a Reply

Categories


