FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #29

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

Would you be willing to eat a bowl of live crickets for $40,000? 

Hell, no!  (Does my answer surprise you?) 

Not crickets, live or cooked.  I like crickets, I like the way they sound.  And when I find a cricket in my house, I catch it and turn it loose outside.  But crickets smell like roaches, to me, so they’d probably taste like them. 

I remember some gross-out reality show on TV (I can’t remember the name of it), in which people did things like this for money.  And in most episodes, it involved eating strange things.

But I have done my share of eating stuff like this, just out of curiosity–I think most people have. 

As a child, while attending Vacation Bible School at a Baptist Church, I took to eating ants off the sidewalk.  I did it mainly to impress the other kids, as we all waited for our parents to pick us up at the end of the day.  I think it did impress the boys–but not the girls!  I’d just lick my finger, squish the ants, and eat them.  They didn’t have much of a taste at all, because they were so tiny.  Still, when my mom caught me doing this one day, she put a stop to it!

Then, when I was in my late twenties, I was digging up fishing worms (for a fishing trip with my dad), these were regular earthworms.  And I got to wondering how a worm tasted to a fish.  So I ate one worm alive, chewing it before swallowing.  It tasted extremely bitter–and I wondered why a fish would enjoy it! 

Now I’d eat a bowl of those chocolate-covered ants I’ve heard about, for $40,000–or even just fried ants.  But they’d have to be cooked of course–I wouldn’t want them crawling around in my stomach.  But crickets, live or cooked?  Hell no!

So dear readers, what strange things have you eaten?  (Reminds me of the Van Halen album, OU812!)  And would you be willing to eat a bowl of live crickets for $40,000?

4 Responses to “FROM THE BOOK OF QUESTIONS #29”


  1. 1 Abby April 18, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    NO freaking way. I realize that I’ve not experimented much with “exotic” foods – certainly not bugs! My mom is Filipino, and although she’s not a fan, crickets are considered a real treat to some.

    • 2 solosocial April 18, 2012 at 6:29 pm

      I didn’t know your mom was Filipino–that’s cool! Did she teach you any Tagalog? I learned the phrase for “thank you” from a Filipino girl I know (there are alot of Filipinos in Greater Pensacola). I don’t know how it’s spelled exactly, but it sounds like “talam(apo)”.

  2. 3 nursemyra April 19, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    I’ve eaten strange foods in Vietnam but I don’t think I could eat anything that was still alive and wriggling. Maybe for a million dollars I could try a live cricket but I get the feeling my stomach would reject it and I’d spit it straight out


Leave a Reply

Categories


