FROM THE BOQ: LOVE & SEX

Gregory Stock’s first follow-up to The Book of Questions is The Book of Questions: Love & Sex.  This book, like its predecessor, is filled with provocative questions, though specific toward love and sex.  And who doesn’t want to talk about love and sex?  Of course most of the questions presume the reader has a significant other–but I don’t (at least not yet).  No problem, though–I just answer them as if I do.

Here’s the first question from the book:

If tomorrow you found out that you and your partner had just conceived a child, how would you react?  How do you think it might change your relationship?

I’d say, “Oh, shit!”  Then I’d sit down, have a beer, and discuss it with her.  I should hope she’d be willing to keep the baby, and not abort murder it.  If she wouldn’t, I’d fight her tooth and nail in court to prevent the abortion murder.  If she would, I’d accept this as a blessing for all three of us, and begin planning for the birth.  It would be difficult for both of us, but I would support her in every way I could.

As for our relationship, I would be somewhat worried that her love for our child might end her love for me.  But I would take the risk, for our child’s sake–trusting that instead this blessing would bring the two of us even closer together.

4 Responses to “FROM THE BOQ: LOVE & SEX”


  1. 1 Abby April 21, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    Geez, that’s the first question? Well, I guess it’s not all that uncommon of a thing! Do women lose their love for their mates when they give it to their babies? I suppose some do, but also it can make the love for the man stronger. I find good fathers very attractive.

    Given my age, it would be scary and very “high risk”. Given my husband’s vasectomy nearly 12 years ago, it would be highly suspect! Still, I’m sure we would do all we could to produce a healthy baby to love!

    • 2 solosocial April 22, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      That’s funny–and enlightening!

      It is a definitely a heavy question for the beginning of the book–but I figured if I could answer that first one, I could answer anything!

      Thanks, Abby–I’ll keep you in mind as a confidant, in case I’m ever in a situation like that!

  2. 3 frigginloon April 23, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Hmm, and here I thought you were going to say “are you sure it’s mine?”


Leave a Reply

Categories


