WHY I DIDN’T KNOW OF ANY OTHER AVENGERS

When I was a kid, I’d go with the other neighborhood kids to Pac-a-Sac (later 7-Eleven), and get comics.  The other boys liked the superhero comics, but I preferred the horror comics.  One reason was that the superhero comics’ stories were not self-contained–they were series which went on and on and on.  And I liked stories that ended quickly, due to my short attention span and impatience.  The horror comics provided self-contained stories–three or four stories in each issue with different characters and plots.  Also, I was more fascinated with the dark side of life than my peers were–I don’t know why.  And even though The Avengers TV series ended when I was only three (I was born in 1966), I saw some reruns.  But I still can’t recall an Avengers comic book series–only one called The Fantastic Four.  So I didn’t become familiar with the superhero characters, except The Incredible Hulk, because of the TV series.  (I still wish I could turn into the Hulk whenever I got pissed off–he takes care of business!)

These were the three comic titles I bought as a kid.  And instead of high blood pressure, I wish I had David Banner’s condition.  I never understood why Bill Bixby’s character wanted a cure for what I considered a blessing!  I’d much rather turn into the Incredible Hulk than face a possible stroke!

4 Responses to “WHY I DIDN’T KNOW OF ANY OTHER AVENGERS”


  1. 1 Abby May 5, 2012 at 11:18 am

    It’s interesting – all of the things we’re exposed to, and we gravitate to certain things even as kids.

    Like you, I was never into super hero comic books, but I do remember reading some Casper the Friendly Ghost and Little LuLu! I developed an appreciation for comic book art later in life. My favorite being Batman because he is dark and a little “off”. I would never read one now, though, I just like the pictures :).

    • 2 solosocial May 5, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      It is indeed–it’s amazing how every single one of us has a unique personality, no matter how many of us there are.

  2. 3 JillsyGirl Studio May 6, 2012 at 8:14 am

    I just perused your last several posts and found your topics quite unique and very interesting. That one about witnessing that couple in the park and your reply was classic! I want to thank you for stopping by my place about a month ago and leaving several comments. For some odd reason I was never notified of them. That has never happened before in all the years I’ve used Blogger and for you to have left 3 comments, none of which I was notified about, truly baffles me. The only reason I found them today is because someone left a comment on a post that was over two weeks old. When that happens I have to go into Blogger and publish it, so that’s when I saw your comments waiting to be published as well. My apologies for not having acknowledged them earlier.


Leave a Reply

Categories


