FROM THE BOQ: LOVE & SEX #6

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If you lost your eyesight, in what ways do you think your notions of a perfect partner would change?

I have no notions of a perfect partner, because no such person exists.  I dated a woman named Tracy who, upon breaking up with me, said she’d find the perfect man.  I told her there was no perfect man, because there was no perfect person–but she insisted there was, and that she would find him.  Well, unless she’s matured over the years, she’s still looking–and will continue looking the rest of her life.

One can be blind with 20/20 vision.  And such blindness of the mind, or of the soul, is the worst kind of blindness.

If I lost my eyesight, however, it would almost certainly change my notions of attractiveness.  Sure, I would learn to see with my fingers.  But of course I couldn’t touch the face of every woman I encountered.  I’d be more attracted by things I could not see–a woman’s smell, her voice, her manner of speaking, and especially her words.

There is a scene from the film, Mask, which illustrates this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4snGt8OzUV0

2 Responses to “FROM THE BOQ: LOVE & SEX #6”


  1. 1 nursemyra May 8, 2012 at 4:44 am

    I would want to be with someone who could make me laugh.


Leave a Reply

Categories


