DRUNKEN POST #4

Oh what fun it is to write on a one-byte open slate (sorry)!  If I keep this up you’re not going to believe I’m drunk!  But I assure you I am.

To update you, the male Great Dane was too difficult to manage (continuous urination in the house, in particular).  So I had to return him to his foster family.  But I contributed $150 toward his future well-being, and I was assured that he would be taken care of the rest of his life, even if they could not find another person to adopt him.  And honestly, when his foster mom came to get him, he was delighted to return to her (and her husband)–I was happy to see that.  Now I’ve taken on an eight-year-old female Great Dane (on a trial basis, of course), and she is doing very well here.  She’s lying on the carpet next to me at my desk, as I write this.  She is much calmer than the other dog, much more relaxed.  And she is every bit as sweet as he is, yet is satisfied with my companionship–not demanding my undivided attention at all times.  The main reason is that she gets along better without other dogs around, while he gets along better with other dogs around.  And I can only care for one dog.

The Chinese waitress mentioned in last week’s drunken post never called or emailed me.  But I’m not surprised.  I want a girlfriend, but have resigned myself to the possibility that I may never have another girlfriend, let alone a wife.  I also realize that I don’t need a significant other–not like I need food or water or shelter.  I just want one.  And I realize that having a significant other, I would have some problems I wouldn’t have otherwise.  There is a bumper sticker that reads:  “I think, therefore I’m single.”  And though that is meant to be humorous, there is some truth to it.  After all, love is not logical–as my childhood television-idol Mr. Spock would say.

I ate with the Singletons at an Italian place this evening–quite enjoyable, and not far from where I live.  I conversed with Margie, a much older woman, and thought about possibly asking her out sometime.  But I’ll need to wait till I’m sober–I wouldn’t want to take advantage of someone in my drunken state. 

I had a dream last night (technically yesterday) about Karen, another member.  She has a beautiful face, but her body shows her age–she’s probably in her seventies.  She used to date a man who was handsome but very unfriendly, and I’m glad to hear she’s broken up with him.  Last night, I dreamed I’d died, and was not quite in Heaven, but not in Hell–a sort of purgatory.  In the dream Karen’s unfriendly boyfriend was about to marry her, and I interrupted–claiming that if she’d marry me, she would be young again.  She accepted, much to his chagrin, and married me.  Surely enough, the rest of her body became as young as her face–in fact she became younger than I.

After dinner, Delbert dropped by, and met my new dog.  She was very shy, but that’s her temperament.  She did allow him to pet her however.  We had a good conversation–I let him sit in my recliner, and I sat on my wooden desk chair.  This is how I treat all visitors, for I have so few.  And I’m quite a hoarder (of things, like old computers, papers, etc.) so my couch is covered with stuff all the time.  Still this works out well.  I always let my dad sit in my recliner whenever he comes over, and my mom sit wherever she wants. 

We had quite an enjoyable conversation about everything from women to the Creator.  He even had some Irish coffee this time.  I of course drank far more, as usual.  But I’m careful with alcohol.  I only drink Irish coffee after drinking beer at a restaurant–not on a daily basis.  I’d be far better off if I drank regular coffee so infrequently–for that is my addiction, what causes me so much trouble.  I would smoke instead, but simply cannot endure the agonizing cough.  So my daily addiction is caffeine.

I was thinking of Marcia Cross the other day, and decided I might post some pictures of her tonight.  I understand that Desperate Housewives is ending (I’d thought it ended a long while ago), and she’s the one actress in the show most attractive to me.  I did watch some of one episode once, but found the politically-correct propaganda too damned annoying.  Yet now that it’s over, who cares?  That’s one really difficult thing about television these days, especially comedy–everything has to be so damned politically correct.  Censorship is as obvious as it ever was–only in a different direction.  It’s just like discrimination in the U.S.–it’s as serious as it ever was, only toward different groups of people.  I’m getting philosopical aren’t I?  I had a poetry professor who once told us he got philosophical whenever he got drunk–and I’m the same way!  Well, enough philosophy–let’s see how many photos of Marcia Cross I can display without overloading my computer!

6 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #4”


  1. 1 bearmancartoons May 12, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Glad the new dog isn’t such a pisser.

    • 2 solosocial May 12, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      Ha! He’s a really good dog, just needs more attention than I can give. In fact, he usually urinated right under my nose, not long after I’d taken him out to urinate–I suspect he did it to get attention. But like I say, he was never as happy here as with his foster family–and was delighted to go back to them, and to the other dogs they fostered. I’m glad such programs as this are available–it’s much better than having to return a dog to a county shelter.

      • 3 frigginloon May 12, 2012 at 11:21 pm

        Oh no, not a Great Dane urinating???? That would be the Niagra Falls of dog pee surely? A friend of mine adopted a Chihuahua that liked to pee on visitor’s feet 😦

      • 4 solosocial May 13, 2012 at 5:18 pm

        That’s funny!

        Reminds me of that scene from “Wolf” in which Jack Nicholson’s character pisses on a business rival’s shoes!

  2. 5 nursemyra May 15, 2012 at 4:13 am

    Marcia has lovely hair and skin but I don’t think she’s beautiful, her features are so hard.

    • 6 solosocial May 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      Her features are certainly unusual, somewhat feline-looking–but that’s why I find her so attractive.

      Really proves that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.


Leave a Reply

Categories


