HELLO, HE’S JOHNNY CASH

I have an audiocassette of Johnny Cash music–it’s the oldest recording I’ve ever made.  Robby, a neighborhood friend of mine, had a stack of Johnny Cash albums at his house, and I recorded songs from all of them there.  I don’t know how old the tape is, but judging from my labeling of the songs–being in standard cursive writing, straight from the teacher’s chalkboard–I had to have been younger than thirteen.  The tape, when played, has cracks throughout, because the albums were so scratched.  But I don’t know how many times I’ve played this tape–I even played it in the boat on a fishing trip with my dad once.

When Johnny Cash died, I immediately went to Barnes & Noble to get a CD collection of his music.  And I found a box set called Johnny Cash: The Legend.  But I couldn’t afford it at the time. 

I finally purchased it through Amazon.com earlier this month.  And I just finished listening to the last song on this huge collection.  And I’ve put the set away, for now, to listen to a double CD of Al Jolson music–but I will definitely listen to my favorite songs from the four-disc Johnny Cash set again–and again–and again.  I’m tired of Johnny Cash music right now, but won’t remain so forever–how can I?  How can anyone ever forget him?  For me, Johnny Cash is the epitome of  country music. 

As aforementioned, I have a collection of memorized songs for singing, mainly while driving, and my favorite of all is Johnny Cash’s Folsom Prison Blues–I have no idea why, I just love to sing it!  Here’s a link to a somewhat souped up video of the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=59uUszKdKZM.

And there were many songs on this box set I had never heard before, one of my favorites being this one, The Wanderer, which he performed with U2.  There’s also a video of this which, for some reason, I can’t get the link to work for (really pisses me off when I can’t get a link to work–but Google “the wanderer u2 with johnny cash”, and you’ll see the video at the top).

Anyway, here’s a link to the box set I just listened to–you can get it here: http://www.amazon.com/The-Legend-Johnny-Cash/dp/B0009YNSC4 

And here’s what’s listed as the official website: http://www.johnnycash.com/

There’s so much I wish I could upload onto this post, so much more I could say about Johnny Cash.  But maybe less is better–maybe you can focus more on what aspects of this musical giant appeal to you most.  For he was (and is) a most complex, unique individual.

2 Responses to “HELLO, HE’S JOHNNY CASH”


  1. 1 Lynn June 16, 2012 at 9:25 am

    How can one really post about a legend such as Johnny? Idolized by even the idols of country music as well as other music genres. I enjoyed reading about how you loved him even as a child so much that you took the time to record his music onto a tape. Hold on to that tape to look back on years from now. If for no other reason than to see what you wrote like way back when. I always enjoy reading what you have to write about. Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories


