DRUNKEN POST #9

Another one?  Yes, another one!  I didn’t find out about the shooting in Colorado till tonight, at the Japanese restaurant where I ate with the Singletons.  Hibachi grill–quite enjoyable.  Anyway, upon leaving, I noticed the American flag at half-mast next to a credit union office.  And I remember thinking, ‘Well they might as well leave it at half-mast every day, the way this country’s going to hell.’ 

We see so much violence, worldwide, that we become desensitized to it.  The only time a catastrophe occurred which really affected me personally was the 1993 wreck of the Amtrak Sunset Limited train, because it was so close to Mobile, Alabama–where I lived.  That’s the only time I ever really thought about my inevitable death, after a catastrophe–not even the 9/11 attacks moved me that way.  The closer something happens, the more we are affected by it. 

I drank my Irish coffee from one of two handmade clay cups tonight.  I bought the cups last year at an antique store.  See I wanted to buy a cup that could hold 16 oz. of liquid that was not made in China.  It wasn’t just for patriotic reasons–it was because so much stuff from China had lead in it (as it still does).  I couldn’t even find such a cup in a thrift store.  And even in the antique stores, most of the cups were made in China.  But I finally came upon a set of clay cups handcrafted locally.  And I only paid $6.00 for them.  While in the antique store, I noticed a very old photograph of an exquisitely beautiful woman.  This was an antique mall (individual booths were set up for different sellers who were not present), so the cashier couldn’t tell me anything about the picture, who the woman was, etc.  (just as she couldn’t tell me who had actually made the initial-hand-engraved cups).  But I couldn’t help myself.  The woman was posed in a silhouette, she had dark eyes and dark hair–and a receding chin (like that of Shelley Long, which I find very attractive, for some reason).  She was also wearing pearls and 1920’s style clothing, as well as her hair in a bun.  And the photograph cost $32.00–but I had to have it.  Now it hangs in my office (once the dining room of this house).  I tried copying the picture on my printer, but the frame made it too difficult to get a clear view.  And I’m not about to remove the frame, the photograph is just too precious. 

I was thinking earlier of the Gundestrup Cauldron, for some reason.  I don’t know if the above photograph is of the actual object, or a reproduction of it–couldn’t get the site for it to come up.  You can learn more about this object here: http://www.celtnet.org.uk/miscellaneous/gundestrup-cauldron.html.

Many years ago, I came across a book entitled The Celts.  This book was written by Gerhard Herm.  And it is absolutely fascinating.  In this book I learned how my Celtic ancestors lived before being converted to Christianity.  I was disturbed on the first reading.  Tales of head-hunting and (sometimes) human sacrifice.  But over the years, it has come to make more sense to me.  Like every other pre-Christian culture on earth, that of the Celts was not one of wanton violence.  Everything was in somber observance of sincere belief. 

Indeed, of the major religions of the world today, Christianity has the bloodiest record, by far–which is even further evidence that Jesus had absolutely nothing to do with it.  In fact, I consider the emergence of Christianity to be the worst development in human history.  To learn more about the true history of Christianity, I highly recommend these two books: Jesus: A Life, by A.N. Wilson, and The Lost Gospel: The Book of Q and Christian Origins, by Burton Mack. 

Christianity is the only major religion I despise, for this reason:  It is the only major religion that accepts no other religion as legitimate.  In other words, Christian doctrine maintains that anyone who is not Christian will go to Hell.  Islam accepts Judaism and Christianity as legitimate religions.  Judaism accepts Islam and Christianity as legitimate religions.  And the Eastern Religions (Buddhism, Hinduism, et al) accept all other religions as legitimate religions.  It is only Christianity that contains what I call the Doctrine of Bigotry.  To truly understand Christianity, one must read books, not biased against Christianity, yet not biased for it either.  And the aforementioned two books are of such content.

But enough of the drunken philospher’s philosophy.  This week’s wonderwoman is Laura Elena Harring.

www.lauraharring.net/

2 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #9”


  1. 1 IzaakMak July 21, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Laura Harring is stunning Scott! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories


