DRUNKEN POST #12

I had wine tonight–should have stuck with beer!  Wine catches up with you before you know it.  It has more alcohol, by volume, than beer–so…  And it’s very hard on my stomach.  “Wine is a mocker; strong drink is raging,” it says somewhere in the Bible.  But for me, strong drink is caffeine, not alcohol.  It’s said that the Native Americans called alcohol “fire water”.  And I can only assume why because they were probably only introduced to hard liquor, such as whiskey–which does burn the hell out your throat.  But I consider coffee fire water, because it fires you up!  Caffeine is raging, not alcohol.  As a kid, I attended a Baptist church for about six years.  My mom raised me up a devout Methodist–but at that time she felt that the United Methodist Church had gotten too far away from the Bible, and had become more of a social club.  And I remember talking about Jesus’ changing the water into wine at the wedding feast in Cana.  This was at a summer camp run by that Baptist church.  One of the counselors explained to us that wine, in Jesus’ time, didn’t have any alcohol in it–that it was like Coca Cola.  And we believed this, of course.  But the Bible doesn’t mention beer, at all–to my knowledge–even though it’s believed to have been developed by the ancient Egyptians.  Maybe beer was not considered strong drink in Biblical times, you think?

I’ve been watching The Andy Griffith Show daily since Andy Griffith’s death.  And in one episode, Andy Taylor does drink beer–though in another county, of course.  I’ve been fantasizing alot lately about how it would be if I were transported into the world of that show–into Mayberry–what kind of an impact I would have.  This is not a new idea. It was used in the film, Pleasantville–though I had thought of being transported into various television worlds before that movie was released.  I’ll bet alot of people had. 

Anyway, TV Land has been showing reruns of the show–starting from the very beginning, since Griffith died.  And I notice that Ellie WalkerAndy Taylor’s first love in the series–is about to be replaced with another.  Elinor Donahue, who played this character, disappeared from the series after several episodes because, as she explains, the chemistry just wasn’t right between Andy and Ellie–at least not enough for marriage.  There were some really gorgeous actresses on The Andy Griffith Show, and Elinor Donahue was is definitely one of the top two (the other being Betty Lynn, who played Barney’s girlfriend, Thelma Lou).

Well, before Elinor Donahue disappears from the series, let me post some pix of this exquisitely beautiful woman.

8 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #12”


  1. 1 bearmancartoons August 22, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Wasn’t she in another show for a long time?

  2. 5 Abby August 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Wine with no alcohol? What’s the point?? I’m thinking ancient Egyptians invented a lot of recreational beverages.

    I didn’t realize Elinor Donahue was “hooked up” with Andy Taylor, although I used to watch that show all the time as a kid. I do remember her in Father Knows Best – the older sister I think. Is she still alive?

  3. 7 theduffboy August 24, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I remember Pleasantville… a bold concept for a film. I will look into your drunken posts series 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories


