DRUNKEN POST #15

And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”  which is, being interpreted, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

And some of them that stood by, when they heard it, said, Behold, he calleth Elias [Elijah].

“What does that have to do with anything?  And what is a drunken post?”

“I don’t know–let’s ask him.”

It’s something I learned at Mobile Christian School, as a kid.  I was sitting in Chapel, which we had every morning–and when the speaker spoke those Aramaic words, all the other students laughed.  But I didn’t laugh.  I loved learning. 

“But where did you get the idea for these drunken posts?”

Several years ago, I was reading a young woman’s blog, and she discussed drunk blogging–as a sort of rite of passage.  That’s where I got the idea.

“Yeah, but why so many–isn’t fourteen enough?”

Not for me.  As I stated in my first drunken post, the drunken writer is at his/her best.  Because he/she is naked, uninhibited.  Haven’t you heard the saying, the truth is in the wine?  Well it is.  Or–in my case–it’s in the beer and the Irish coffee.

I can write anything I want here, and be unashamed.  I can tap my subconcious mind directly. 

“But aren’t you worried about what your readers might think of you?”

You haven’t been listening.  The few readers whom I’ve met personally will accept me for who I am.  And the majority of my readers whom I’ve never met will also accept me.  In John Gray’s book, Men, Women and Relationships, the author lists the primary needs of the human male and the human female.  The first need, to be loved, is shared by men and women equally.  Then the needs split, in importance.  After love, the human female most needs to be cared for, to be understood, and to be respected.  Likewise, after love, the human male needs to be accepted, to be appreciated, and to be trusted.  Both sexes need all.  But the primary needs of the human female, after love, are the secondary needs of the human male.  And the primary needs of the human male, after love, are the secondary needs of the human female.

Thus, as a man, the need to be accepted is one of my primary needs.

Could Gray be mistaken?  Sure.  But not for the majority of human males and human females.  And of course there are always exceptions.

This is just my opinion.  As the bumper sticker reads: “Everyone is entitled to my own opinion!”

Gotta learn to laugh at yourself! 

“So why another drunken post so soon–don’t you only drink once a week, at most?”

Yes, but this time the Singletons dined at Monterrey’s–which is practically across the street from where I live.  Next Friday they’ll be dining in Milton–that’s almost as far from here as my hometown of Mobile, Alabama!  So I made an exception–since I won’t likely be drinking alcohol again for at least two weeks!

This evening, upon returning home, I listened to the Genesis album, Invisible Touch, on CD–which I’d ordered.  This was one of several albums I purchased on audiocassette in 1986.  I especially like the song, Tonight, Tonight, Tonight–somewhat repetitive of course.  But I remember listening to it on my tape player in my car, over and over again, as a plea to the Creator–especially the lines, You keep telling me I’ve got everything–you say I’ve got everything I want.  You keep telling me you’re gonna help me–you’re gonna help me.  But you don’t. 

Sounds alot like, My God, My God, why hast thou forsaken me, doesn’t it?  And I was referring to my mental illness.  My mental illness did not surface until November, 1985.  It’s only natural that I asked the Creator why I’d been stricken with it–why I’d been born with it (most mental illness is hereditary, and certainly mine was).  But the Creator never answered–and still does not answer.  There is no cure for mental illness.  There is only medication with horrible side-effects.  With these horrible side-effects, taking the medication is only slightly better than not taking it at all.

If I could, I’d take no medication–and simply use alcohol daily to ease my anxiety, ease my fear.  But I would become addicted to alcohol, of course. 

Still, I wish I could simply reduce the dosage of one medication in particular.  This medication is the best for OCD.  But its side-effects prevent me from getting enough exercise, because it causes dehydration and severe heat sensitivity–not a good thing in the hot, humid climate of Northwest Florida.  It also causes cognitive dysfunction–thus I cannot write poetry or prose as well on such a high dosage of the goddamned stuff.

Anyway, speaking of this climate–do you realize what day this is?  This is the Autumnal Equinox–the first day of fall!  And I am so grateful for this!  Soon this relentless heat and humidity will let up!

“Then the dude ends the drunken post with pix of some gorgeous girl he’s hot for–he says it’s a tradition he started.”

Indeed (I love saying that because Spock says it).  This week’s hottie is Betty Lynn.

0 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #15”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


