DRUNKEN POST #29

seuss-big_12Wait, there are only 28 days in February this year!  But this is my 29th drunken post.  I’ve been drunk many more days, over my bizarre life–though only consecutively once.  In late 1986, I drank alcohol three days in a row.  It was during a two-week period I’ll never forget–one of the best times in my life.  But the circumstances behind it were somewhat complicated, so I’ll go into detail some other time.

My oldest sister gave me a camera she was no longer using during the holidays.  It’s a digital camera (I had expressed a desire to have a digital camera, though I mentioned nothing of my blog).  And I plan to post some of my own photos on my blog–whenever I figure out how to use the camera!

My life has never been so overwhelming as now.  I have more to do than I know what to do with.  Just one damned thing after another.  Nights like this are just short respites from reality–once I’ve slept-off the booze, my life is hell again.

One of my best therapists, Jim, was also one of the wisest and most practical.  He once said that, despite my mental illness, I was the most sane person he knew.  I remember once expressing this bizarre idea to him:  So God made us, God puts up with our bullshit.  But what’s in it for God?  Maybe this.  Since God is not human, and neither male nor female, God lives through us all simultaneously.  God experiences human life through each of us.  For example, when a man and woman are “in the throes of orgasm,” God gets to feel what it’s like for both the man and the woman in the same moment.

Jim said that’s deep.  But it’s too deep for most people.  He suggested I keep it to myself.

This is one thing I like about writing.  You can’t say anything you want with impunity.  But you can write anything you want with impunity.  Because anything you write you can simply claim as fiction or fantasy.

I’m drunk, whenever I write a “drunken post”–yet I could be sober, for all you know. 

Isn’t that cool?

Writing allows you to be anything you want to be, say anything you want to say, do anything you want to do–even if it’s against social or natural law.  Through writing, I can walk fly naked through the center of town, and no one, and nothing can stop me!  I owe a great deal to the late Dr. Seuss–perhaps we all do.

From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere!onefish-792519

5 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #29”


  1. 1 theduffboy February 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    I agree with what you write about the freedom that comes with writing. It`s a freedom I tread carefully now, but that I enjoy wholeheartedly.

  2. 4 Susan Lewis March 12, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    God…the perverted passive-objective voyeur. I LIKE IT! I recall, as a child, asking my ass-wipe father “How do we know that we aren’t walking around all day DREAMING and our dreams aren’t actually our lives?” His reply: I was being “an ignorant cunt trying too hard to sound smart” but for me it was an honest question that I truly put thought towards {worried about perhaps} for many, many months.

    • 5 solosocial March 13, 2013 at 11:14 am

      My dad also scolded me whenever I asked intellectual questions like that. My neighborhood friends and I used to gather sometimes on my front porch, and talk about our dreams, and my dad reacted as if we’d been smoking weed, or something. It took decades for me to realize what my dad’s problem was. My dad doesn’t believe in anything he can’t see or touch. He seems incapable of abstract thought.


Leave a Reply

Categories


