I DON’T LIKE IT HERE, I WANT TO GO BACK!

I don’t like it here, I want to go back.

According to the old Knowers

if you’re absent from the one you love

even for one second that ruins the whole thing!

 

There must be someone . . . just to find

one sign of the other world in this town

would be enough.

 

You know the great Chinese Simurgh bird

got caught in this net . . .

And what can I do?  I’m only a wren.

 

My desire-body, don’t come

strolling over this way.

Sit where you are, that’s a good place.

 

When you want dessert, you choose something rich.

In wine, you look for what is clear and firm.

What is the rest?  The rest is mirages,

and blurry pictures, and milk mixed with water.

The rest is self-hatred, and mocking other people, and bombing.

 

So just be quiet and sit down.

The reason is–you are drunk,

and this is the edge of the roof.

 

Rumi

(Robert Bly translation)

0 Responses to “I DON’T LIKE IT HERE, I WANT TO GO BACK!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


