AMENDING AN OATH

Last winter was the coldest I’ve ever experienced–I’ve never been so cold in my life as then.  So I made an oath, “May God strike me dead if I ever complain about the summer heat again!”

Then it got hot in mid-spring, and I caught myself complaining about the heat.  Nothing happened.  Well, I figured it was because I had said “summer” heat.  But on the first day of summer, the heat hit right on schedule–and now this is the hottest summer I’ve ever experienced–I’ve never been so hot in my life. 

I’ve been complaining about the summer heat ever since, but I’m still here! 

And because one cannot retract an oath, I can only amend my oath: May God strike me dead if I ever complain about the winter cold again!

Climate change is definitely real, and it is definitely occurring.  We may disagree about its cause, but we can all agree that it is real.  Even total skeptics will at least admit that something is definitely wrong with the weather, worldwide.

Our human ancestors experienced climate change at least twice–most recently eighteen thousand years ago.  But they hadn’t developed writing yet–so they left no personal accounts of the experience.

I wish they had.  At least we’d know how many decades this extreme weather would occur before the planet finally settled down into either a fire age or an ice age.

The Creator (God) does not act on our oaths, but sometimes I wish He did.  And this is one of those times. 

Because I would rather be struck dead than go through any more of this climate-change hell.

0 Responses to “AMENDING AN OATH”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


