THE UNSTRUCK DRUM OF ETERNITY

The moon shines in my body, but my blind eyes cannot see it: 

The moon is within me, and so is the sun. 

The unstruck drum of Eternity is sounded within me; but my deaf ears cannot hear it. 

 

So long as man clamours for the “I” and the “Mine”, his works are as naught: 

When all love of the “I” and the “Mine” is dead, then the work of the Lord is done. 

For work has no other aim than the getting of knowledge: 

When that comes, then work is put away. 

The flower blooms for the fruit:  when the fruit comes, the flower withers. 

The musk is in the deer, but it seeks it not within itself:  it wanders in quest of grass.

 

Kabir

(translated by Rabindranath Tagore)

0 Responses to “THE UNSTRUCK DRUM OF ETERNITY”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


