FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #9

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If you were locked in a time machine set for a single one-way trip to the past or future and had 10 minutes to dial in the time and place, when and where would you go? 

H.G. Wells was right–with a time machine, one could travel only through time, not space.

So a time machine would not take me anywhere but the current location of the machine itself.

That said, if I were locked in a time machine set for a single one-way trip to the past or future and had 10 minutes to dial in the time, I would dial in September 25, 1914, 10:34 p.m.

Why? 

I should have been born in 1866, not 1966.  I have never belonged in this time.

What if it were to be a round trip that would include any family and friends you wanted to bring along and safely return everyone in a week?

I wouldn’t bring along anyone–I’d go alone.  And I would choose the future, so that I could return with knowledge of it (and perhaps some very useful souvenirs).  So I’d dial in September 25, 2114, 10:34 p.m.

0 Responses to “FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #9”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


