FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #11

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

If what you owned had no bearing on what people thought of you, would you spend your money differently?

No.

1 Response to “FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #11”


  1. 1 solosocial September 29, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    I remember the day I stopped worrying about what other people thought of me. It was in 1992. I had just completed a music appreciation course at the University of South Alabama. That was one of the best courses I ever took in college–not only did it introduce me to a far wider world of Western classical music, it led to my interest in Eastern classical music, Eastern folk music, blues, and even heavy metal!

    At that time, my car had no working air conditioner–so I had to keep the windows rolled down when driving. And one hot, humid afternoon, I drove through the municipal park–with Western classical music playing on my tape deck. There were alot of young men–just slightly younger than I–standing on the sides of the driveway through the park.

    I immediately realized those guys could easily hear the classical music coming from my car, and thought to turn off the tape deck. It occurred to me that they’d probably think classical music was just not cool.

    Yet then I thought, ‘Who cares what they think? I can play any music I want.’ And I let the classical music play on.

    And that was the day I stopped worrying about what other people thought of me.

    Since then, I’ve experienced a sense of personal freedom many people
    never experience–the freedom to truly be myself.

    What other people think of me is far less important than what I think of myself.

    And likewise, what other people think of you is far less important than what you think of yourself.


Leave a Reply

Categories


