FROM A MAN AT THE END TO A WOMAN BEYOND

Polly W.

Oh you, you’re so hard to get to.  

Oh you, you don’t wanna play.  

You were no better before.  

I sent a dream to you last night

From the end of the world.  

 

Oh you, you keep me hangin’ ’round and ’round

And ’round.  

Oh you, look at the trouble I’ve found.  

You were no better before

I sent a letter before

I sent a dream to you last night

From the end of the world.  

 

I saw you last night but you couldn’t answer.  

You were a lonely little sidewalk dancer.  

When I woke up I could not stand it  

You were gone but I got to hand it to you.  

 

Oh please if this is a game I wish someone would win  

Oh please just let it fly to be upon the wind  

You were no better before, I sent a letter before

I sent a dream to you baby last night

From the end of the world

Polly W.

The dark rose of thy mouth

Draw nigher, draw nigher!  

Thy breath is the wind of the south,

A wind of fire!  

The wind and the rose and darkness

O Rose of my Desire!  

 

Deep silence of the night

Hush’t like a breathless lyre,

Save the sea’s thunderous might,

Dim, menacing, dire;

Silence and wind and sea,

They are thee,

O Rose of my Desire!  

 

As a wind eddying flame

Leaping higher and higher

Thy soul, Thy secret name

Leaps thro’ Death’s blazing pyre!  

Kiss me, Imperishable Fire,

Dark Rose,

O Rose of my Desire!

Polly W.

1 Response to “FROM A MAN AT THE END TO A WOMAN BEYOND”


  1. 1 solosocial November 9, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    Credits:

    The first poem is the lyrics to “From the End of the World”, an Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) song written by Jeff Lynne.

    The second poem, “The Rose of the Night”, was written by William Sharp, under the pseudonym, “Fiona MacLeod”. It was later set to music by Composer Charles Tomlinson Griffes.


Leave a Reply

Categories


