IN SIMPLICITY DO WE UNITE WITH THE SIMPLE ONE

GORAKHNATH asks Kabir:

“Tell me, O Kabir, when did your vocation begin?  Where did your love have its rise?”  

Kabir answers:

“When He whose forms are manifold had not begun His play:  when there was no Guru, and no disciple:  when the world was not spread out:  when the Supreme One was alone–

Then I became an ascetic; then, O Gorakh, my love was drawn to Brahma.

Brahma did not hold the crown on his head; the god Vishnu was not anointed as king; the power of Shiva was still unborn; when I was instructed in Yoga.

 

“I became suddenly revealed in Benares, and Ramananda illumined me;

I brought with me the thirst for the Infinite, and I have come for the meeting with Him.

In simplicity will I unite with the Simple One; my love will surge up.

O Gorakh, march thou with His music!”

 

Kabir

(translated by Rabindranath Tagore)

0 Responses to “IN SIMPLICITY DO WE UNITE WITH THE SIMPLE ONE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


