FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #28

Another question from Gregory Stock’s book is this:

Would you rather live in a country where people can get rich if they succeed in business but might wind up destitute if they fail, or in a place where there is little opportunity to achieve wealth but a strong social safety net in place?

I already live in a country where people can get rich if they succeed in business but might wind up destitute if they fail.  This is of no consequence to me–I have no interest in business.  Yet I wouldn’t rather live in a place where there is a strong social safety net in place.  Before answering this question, I looked up the definition of “social safety net”–and found that it didn’t mean what I was hoping it would mean.  I was hoping that “social safety net” meant help within one’s family and one’s community.  Instead, “social safety net” means governmental help. And I don’t want to receive any more governmental help than I have to. Because–generally speaking–you can trust your family and community more than you can trust your government.

0 Responses to “FROM THE 2013 BOOK OF QUESTIONS #28”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


