WE SHOULD ALL BE AS RESOLUTE AS SHE

I wasn’t surprised when five extremely misguided Supreme Court justices made same-sex marriage federal law.  Disgusted with them–but not surprised.  And I wrote THE ELEPHANTS IN THE LIVING ROOM: THE FIRST in response to this insane ruling.

Yet now comes the real test–the real question:  How far will the American People let this go?  How long will the American People let a clearly unconstitutional Supreme Court ruling stand?

I just saw a headline on AOL stating that County Clerk Kim Davis will be jailed for her refusal to yield to a Supreme Court decision that is not only unconstitutional, but in direct contradiction to her beliefs.

Because AOL is so blatantly sensationalist, not to mention leftist–I’m going to verify this story with PBS this evening.

But if this is true–if Ms. Davis really is going to be jailed for standing up for her rights–then God help America.  Really.

I first learned of County Clerk Kim Davis’ situation from a front-page article in The New York Times yesterday.

Ms. Davis, a county clerk in Kentucky who “took office in January, succeeding her mother, who had been the county clerk for 37 years . . . says same-sex marriage violates her Christian beliefs.”

As a former Christian and student of the Bible, I can vouch for her statement. The Bible condemns homosexuality in both the Old and New Testaments.  The Bible condemns homosexuality just as the Torah does, and just as the Qur’an does.

And because the Bible–the sacred text of Christians–condemns homosexuality, same-sex marriage would certainly be in violation of the Bible’s teachings–thus in violation of Christian doctrine.

Though my faith is not Christian (I do not believe that Jesus of Nazareth, or anyone else, was, is, or will be the incarnation of the Creator)–I must admit I was passionately inspired by Ms. Davis’ unyielding stance against what she considered (and what I consider) an unjust law.  While reading the article, I wished I could be there–in that Kentucky courthouse–to show my support.

Yet even if I did not agree with her, I should hope I would support her just the same.  You know this quote by Voltaire: “I disagree with what you say, but I would defend to the death your right to say it.”  And speaking of death, consider this excerpt from the newspaper article:

Ms. Davis said in a statement released by her lawyers that she had received death threats, but that she would neither resign nor relent.

Death threats?  I thought the movement for same-sex marriage was a peaceful one.

“To issue a marriage license which conflicts with God’s definition of marriage, with my name affixed to the certificate, would violate my conscience,” she said.  She added:  “I have no animosity toward anyone and harbor no ill will.  To me this has never been a gay or lesbian issue. It is about marriage and God’s word.” 

Ms. Davis is quite correct on two important points:

This has never been a gay or lesbian issue.  As I’ve stated before, the issue of same-sex marriage has nothing to do with rights at all.  Homosexuals and lesbians have always had the right to marry members of the opposite sex, just as heterosexuals have.  They have always had “marriage equality.”

And this is about marriage.  As I’ve stated before, it is about the definition of marriage.  By definition, marriage is a union between members of opposite sexes. Whether it is a union between one man and many women, one woman and many men, or one man and one woman–marriage has always been recognized as a union between members of opposite sexes.  If same-sex marriage has ever been the norm in any human culture, anywhere, that culture certainly collapsed a long time ago.  Because marriage was developed for purely practical reasons, in the first place: For tribal alliances, for economic stability, and especially for assurance of fidelity in the continuation of a family and/or community.  And however you feel about homosexuality, you cannot deny this fact: Men alone cannot procreate, and women alone cannot procreate.  Only men and women together can procreate–only men and women together can continue the family and/or community.  (And if you want a case in point, find out what happened to the Shakers–whose male and female members could marry and cohabit, but could not have sex.)

This is about a nation whose government forces its citizens to accept and enforce a redefinition of an institution that has insured the continuation of the human species to this day: marriage.

County Clerk Kim Davis refuses to enforce a redefinition of marriage.  And this is her right.  We should all be as resolute as she.

1 Response to “WE SHOULD ALL BE AS RESOLUTE AS SHE”


  1. 1 solosocial September 4, 2015 at 12:10 am

    I have just seen the report on the PBS Newshour: Rowan County Clerk Kim Davis has been sentenced to jail for standing up for her rights. So God help America. Really.


Leave a Reply

Categories


