REPARATIONS OWED ME?

Reparations are amends made for wrongs committed.  In our society in particular though, reparations are monetary payments demanded by members of racial and ethnic groups for wrongs committed against their ancestors. This is not the same as reparations for present wrongs, or wrongs recently committed.  There are alot of people in this country who feel that they should be “paid back” for wrongs committed against their ancestors.  Only problem is: Everyone in the world has a reparations list of this kind.

Here’s my reparations list:

The United States owes me for what was done to my Confederate ancestors.

The Southern States owe me for what was done to my Union ancestors.

The United States owes me for what was done to my Cherokee ancestors.

Britain owes me for what was done to my Colonial American ancestors.

France owes me for what was done to my German ancestors.

Britain owes me for what was done to my Irish ancestors.

England owes me for what was done to my Scottish ancestors.

France owes me for what was done to my British and Irish ancestors.

Norway, Sweden, and Denmark owe me for what was done to my British and Irish ancestors.

Germany, Denmark, and the Netherlands owe me for what was done to my Celtic British ancestors.

Italy owes me for what was done to my Celtic British ancestors.

And the Vatican owes me for what was done to my Pre-Christian Celtic and Germanic ancestors.

Wouldn’t it be silly of me (not to mention disrespectful) to expect reparations for what my ancestors suffered, but what I didn’t suffer?

Yet reparations of this kind are demanded by people all over this country, to this day.  And such people seem clueless as to how silly and disrespectful their demands are.

2 Responses to “REPARATIONS OWED ME?”


  1. 1 Binky September 16, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    All through history people have done horrible things to each other. And one can only imagine what went on before recorded history.

    • 2 solosocial September 16, 2015 at 9:55 pm

      They certainly have–although I think such inhumanities have increased with technological advancements–from agriculture to Digital-Age technology. What I’m saying is that it’s really worse now than ever before–it’s just that inhumanities have become cloaked with political language so that they don’t seem as inhuman as they are. Also, technology now enables industrial-scale violence and oppression. Governments can now monitor their subjects more intrusively than ever before. And weapons can kill so many more people than ever before, and in much more gruesome, long-term ways. Even industrial-scale abortion is a product of technology. Countless unborn children are needlessly killed every year–with the use of technology that wasn’t even available a century ago. Yet the technology that has supposedly made us so “civilized” also desensitizes us to the inhumanities committed today. We see these evils occurring through mass video media, but are so far-removed from them that we cannot truly comprehend them. The paradox is that civilization has actually made us more uncivilized. Scientists estimate that fully-evolved modern humans have existed for at least one hundred thousand years. And civilization–not to mention writing–has only come into play for five or six thousand years. Yet I think, in all that time before “civilization”, we humans were far less brutal and oppressive to one another. When we were a little more like the other animals on this planet, we had less motive to kill and dominate indiscriminately. We more likely killed and dominated primarily for our immediate survival needs, as the other animals did (and still do).


Leave a Reply

Categories


