FAIR-WEATHER FAMILY

That’s what I have–a fair-weather family.

My parents and my two sisters.

If everything is going well for me, they’re willing to listen.

If anything is not going well for me, they’re not willing to listen.

A listening ear–that’s all I ask of any of them.

Yet they’re unwilling to give me this–the simplest thing to give.

3 Responses to “FAIR-WEATHER FAMILY”


  1. 1 solosocial October 19, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    Every member of my family who ever loved me unconditionally is dead.

  2. 2 Jay October 20, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    That’s very sad.
    I kind of feel the same way about my mother and 2 (out of 3) of my sisters – that as long as I do for them and ask nothing of them, they’re there. But if I expect anything of them, even if it’s just for them to visit me instead of me always travelling to them, then it’s too much. I’ve had to take another break for them – I need distance or it just hurts too much. Take care. Make family out of people you choose.


Leave a Reply

Categories


