CHANGE IN PERSPECTIVE, CHANGE IN OBJECTIVE

Because Muslims do not believe that Muhammad was the incarnation of the Creator, it is not especially difficult for Muslims to follow Muhammad.

Because Jews do not believe that Moses was the incarnation of the Creator, it is not especially difficult for Jews to follow Moses.

Because Buddhists do not believe that Buddha was the incarnation of the Creator, it is not especially difficult for Buddhists to follow Buddha.

But because Christians believe that Jesus was the incarnation of the Creator, it is especially difficult for Christians to follow Jesus.

When I was Christian, my belief in Christ distracted me from Jesus.  Once I realized I was no longer Christian (I no longer believed that Jesus was the incarnation of the Creator), I was no longer distracted from Jesus by my belief in Christ.  And I could follow Jesus more closely.

In the beginning of my new faith, my objective was to convert Christians away from Christianity.  Yet eventually I realized that, not only was this futile, it was pointless.  For even if I could convert Christians away from Christianity, what would this accomplish?

When I finally realized this, not long ago, I began changing my objective. Christians could not change what they believed, just as I could not change what I believed; no one has any control over his or her beliefs.

So my objective changed from converting Christians away from Christianity to persuading Christians to follow Jesus more closely. And so it remains.

0 Responses to “CHANGE IN PERSPECTIVE, CHANGE IN OBJECTIVE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


