DRUNKEN POST #44

I WILL GIVE UP MY GUN CONFEDERATE FLAG WHEN THEY PRY IT FROM MY COLD, DEAD FINGERS!

So bizarre–if I’d written that before June of last year, it wouldn’t have made any sense at all.

Now it makes sense–GOD BLESS HELP AMERICA!

 

Just like anyone else on this earth–in the past, present, or future–I am a dichotomy of good and evil.

I realize that, every day, I will do both good and harm–as everyone else will.

But I always try to do more good than harm, every day–and this is the best I can hope for.

I have always been a very impressionable person–I have always tended to take everything to heart.

This tendency has helped me far more than it has harmed me.

Ironic.  I had many classmates at Mobile Christian School.  They were assigned to learn the Ten Commandments, just as I was.  Yet to my knowledge, I was the only student who began questioning the principal doctrine of Christianity–that Jesus was the incarnation of our Creator, sacrificed for the sins of humanity–upon examining the very first commandment–“I am the Lord thy God…Thou shalt have no other gods before me”–and realizing that this commandment contradicted the popular saying I heard every day–that Jesus was God.

I took this first commandment to heart–and this would eventually deliver me from Christianity, and lead me to the realization that I did not have to belong to any organized religion to have a personal relationship with my Creator.

And there was something else I took to heart–something a faculty member had posted on the wall at Mobile Christian School

DO THE RIGHT THING BECAUSE IT’S THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

So simple, yet so profound: Do the right thing, not because it’s the popular thing to do, but because it’s the right thing to do.

And another thing I took to heart–something I read in a book written by a motivational speaker, Zig Ziglar, when I was thirteen–a book which lifted me from a state of clinical depression brought on by the verbal bullying of White boys and the physical bullying of Black boys at Hillsdale Middle School.

FAIR PLAY SEEKS WHAT IS RIGHT–NOT WHO IS RIGHT

So simple, yet so profound: Justice seeks what is right–not who is right.  And truth seeks what is right–not who is right.

This simple, yet profound teaching smashes the cult of political correctness, the cult of personality, and the cult of public opinion into infinitesimal shards “like the chaff which the wind driveth away.”

And “in (this) law (do I) meditate day and night,” as best I can.

And I only hope I can live by this teaching even better than Zig Ziglar, himself, did–“all the days of my life.”

0 Responses to “DRUNKEN POST #44”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


